Well hello NYC….

I made it.  It was a pretty uneventful journey although very long.

The 8hr overnight National Express bus trip to the airport was made just that little bit more tedious by the middle-aged couple in front of me, whispering to each other throughout the night. Not quiet whispering, stage whispering.

‘Have you got the M&S bag? Where are those crisps?’

‘No, you had it dear. You put it down by your handbag- but I don’t remember any crisps. I saw sandwiches, but no crisps….’

Rummaging loudly at her feet.  ‘There were crisps. And sandwiches, but definitely crisps too, I gave the bag to you. I’m sure I did….. Oh here it is.’ Laughs ‘ You were right dear. Here it is, and here are the crisps! Shall we share?’

Repeat mindless bollocks for 8 hours.

Now I’m a massive fan of airports. I’m always late for the plane and so never really have enough time to explore. This leaves me with a feeling that there is something else magical that I have never seen, apart from the shops, which somehow seem far more exciting than your average high street store.

I arrived in plenty of time. Yes. Me. The anticipation of  exploring every nook and cranny was nearly too much as I entered the short queue to check in. I was trying not to look smug as I neared the desk, a full three hours before my flight.

I was in the wrong queue.

Still nothing could break my spirit this morning. I queued in the correct line only to be told that my USA visa -calmly organised in plenty of time for the first time in my travelling life -was only good for 90 days and my return flight was 93 days later. Yes 3 days.

‘Whatevs’ I thought. I’ll deal with that later. I’m on a mission to explore Heathrow Terminal 4.

Apparently one could not enter the USA unless one re-booked one’s return flight three days earlier. Needless to say an hour, five phone calls,  two long queues, three booking assistants later and £110 down I had a new legal ticket.

Only just still smiling I checked in. The massive suitcase passed through without excess baggage charge. Bonus. Someone was looking after me that day…..

Terminal 4 is shite. Unless you’ve got loads of cash, which by this point I certainly didn’t, to spend in Harrods.

Didn’t get upgraded.

Sat amongst an entire group of  teenage CampAmerica volunteers, all very over excited and calling their mums to let them know they were on the plane. I thought about calling mine too.

Cedar Falls – hilarious

Gullivers Travels – hilarious

(was I delirious from lack of sleep?)

Somewhere – twatty Sofia Coppola film that Daddy paid for. Enough now love.

(was I getting snappy from lack of sleep?)

Apart from my finger prints not matching the last set they had on file and the 10 minute panicky wait, whilst I listened to an aggressive official tell 3 Korean girls they had to head straight back home, I sauntered through customs at JFK.

My taxi driver spoke almost no English and had no idea where to go.

Yeehah! I’d finally arrived in New York.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mr WordPress
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 02:55:12

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

  2. tams
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 17:29:07

    brilliant, well done, you did it. LOVE the national express conversation x

    Reply

  3. Marjorie Fenworthy.
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 08:30:19

    yes please. more. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

